Sperm Formation




Spermatogenesis takes place inside the seminiferous tubules. Diploid spermatogonia located near the outer edge of the tubule divide mitotically to form primary spermatocytes. The first meiotic division produces secondary spermatocytes with a haploid number of duplicated chromosomes. The second meiotic division produces spermatids, each with twenty-three single chromosomes. Maturation of the spermatids produces sperm. Sertoli cells, the only other type of cells in the seminiferous tubule, provide the forerunners of sperm with nourishment and molecular signals. The mature sperm consist of a head with an enzyme-containing cap, a midpiece with mitochondria to provide energy for locomotion, and a whiplike tail with a core of microtubules.



Copy and paste this code into your website or blog.

Add To

You must login to add videos to your playlists.


0 Comments total

to post comments.

No comments have been posted for this video yet.